Kindergarten Registration

The Sycamore Community School District # 427 is holding the 2017-2018 Kindergarten Registration and Screening on Wednesday, March 22 from 2:00 PM till 6:40 PM at your child’s “HOME SCHOOL” (the school that they will be attending).  Please call your home school to schedule your registration/screening time.   If you have questions regarding what elementary school boundaries you live in, please call the Transportation Department at (815) 899-8106 or (815) 899-8122.

Children, who will be five years old on or before September 1, 2017, are eligible for Kindergarten in August 2017.

Please call your “Home” school to schedule a registration/screening time:

  • North School, 1680 Brickville Road, (815) 899-8209
  • Southeast School, 718 Locust Street, (815) 899-8219
  • South Prairie School, 820 Borden Avenue, (815) 899-8299
  • West School, 240 South Fair Street, (815) 899-8199
  • North Grove, 850 Republic Avenue, (815) 899-8124

The kindergarten screening has the children rotating through various stations with Sycamore Community School District #427 staff members directing the activities.   Parents will be completing the registration forms while the children rotate through the stations.

When registering for Kindergarten 2017-2018 school year, please bring a “certified” copy of your child’s birth certificate (the copy issued by the county only) and three (3) proofs of residency are also required.

At this time no fees will be collected.

Prior to the first day of Kindergarten each child will need a complete physical exam, eye exam and a dental exam.  The required immunizations may be obtained at the DeKalb County Health Department for a nominal charge or at your physician’s office.  It is not too early to make these appointments.  Physical, eye and dental forms will be furnished at registration.

For any questions or to make the appointment for Kindergarten Registration and Screening, please call your home school at the numbers listed above.

We look forward to meeting you and your child.


Elementary Principals

  • Kathy Spiewak – North Elementary School
  • Mark Ekstrom – Southeast Elementary School
  • Kreg Wesley – South Prairie Elementary School
  • Kristi Crawford – West Elementary School
  • Ryan Janisch – North Grove Elementary School