Jumping into their Future: Kindergarten Registration

Sycamore Community School District 427 will be holding 2018-2019 Kindergarten Registration and Screening on Thursday, April 12 from 2:00 PM to 6:40 PM at the elementary schools. Please call your homeschool in advance at the numbers listed below to schedule an appointment during that time. If you have any questions regarding what elementary school boundary you live in, please call the District’s Transportation Department at (815) 899-8106. Children who will be five years old on or before September 1, 2018 are eligible to start Kindergarten in August 2018.

  • North School, 1680 Brickville Road, (815) 899-8209
  • Southeast School, 718 Locust Street, (815) 899-8219
  • South Prairie School, 820 Borden Avenue, (815) 899-8299
  • West School, 240 South Fair Street, (815) 899-8199
  • North Grove, 850 Republic Avenue, (815) 899-8124

During your appointment, children will rotate through various stations with District staff members directing the activities, while parents will complete their registration.

To complete the registration process, parents will need to bring a “certified” copy of their child’s birth certificate (the copy issued by the county only) and three (3) proofs of residency to complete the residency verification process. During Kindergarten Registration, no student fees will be collected.

Prior to the first day of Kindergarten, each child will need to complete a physical exam, eye exam, and dental exam. The required immunizations may be obtained at the DeKalb County Health Department for a nominal charge, or at your physician’s office. It’s not too early to make these appointments. Physical, eye, and dental forms will be provided at your registration appointment.

For any questions, or to make the appointment for Kindergarten Registration and Screening, please call your homeschool at the numbers listed above.

We look forward to meeting you and your child!


Elementary Principals

  • Kathy Spiewak – North Elementary School
  • Mark Ekstrom – Southeast Elementary School
  • Kreg Wesley – South Prairie Elementary School
  • Kristi Crawford – West Elementary School
  • Ryan Janisch – North Grove Elementary School